DCPBK is run by a volunteer board, consisting of the executive committee (officers plus up to six at-large executive committee members), an advisory council, and a team of volunteers. Executive committee members are elected before our Annual Meeting each June, vote on board issues, and appoint additional volunteers to run our programs. The Board meets on the first Sunday of each quarter for 2 hours, and additionally as requested by the president.

To learn more about our governance infrastructure, see our Constitution and By-Laws.


At-Large Executive Committee Members

  1. Elizabeth “Liz” Marshall Anderson – PBK Liasion, Past President
  2. Paul B. Lubliner – Newsletter Publisher, Past President
  3. Kate Smith – Book Club Chair
  4. Christina Hughes – Mentorship Network Chair
  5. Matthew Thomas – Membership & Outreach Chair/Webmaster
  6. Fundraising & Development Chair – VACANT

Advisory Council


  • Alaina Ruffin – Social Media Chair, High School Awards Vice Chair
  • Sameer Jaywant – High School Awards Chair
  • Molly Rose Malaney – Spanish Language Group Chair
  • Young Professionals Network Chair: VACANT
  • Newsletter Editor: VACANT

Presidents of the DC Area Phi Beta Kappa Association

2024-Present Niku Neshati

2023-2024 Lindsay Marissa Osborne

2021-2023 Rebecca DeSantis-Randall

2019-2021 Breann Watt

2017-2019 Nina M. Kuo

2015-2017 Elizabeth “Liz” Marshall Anderson

2013-2015 David L. MacDonald

2012-2013 (Interim) Andrew Steigman

2012-2012 Geoffrey Klopp

2010-2012 Paul B. Lubliner

2008-2010 Andrew Steigman

2006-2008 Valerie Neal

2005-2006 Christel G. McDonald

2004-2005 Edward “Ed” A. Molnar

2002-2004 Christel G. McDonald

2000-2002 Eddie Eitches

1998-2000 Christel G. McDonald

1996-1998 Hazel M. B. Ingersoll

1994-1996 Christel G. McDonald

1992-1994 Linda R. Sveinsson

1990-1992 Gloria G. Cochran

1989-1990 Samuel E. Fry

1987-1989 John E. Manion

1986-1987 Hazel M. B. Ingersoll

1984-1986 Kenneth F. McLaughlin

1982-1984 Hazel M. B. Ingersoll

1980-1982 Louise M. Rovner

1978-1980 Herbert W. Weber

1976-1978 George W. Ingle

1971-1976 Esther C. Lawton

1961-1971 Edward R. Place